The Waiting Game

 

The_waiting_game_logo

One of the hardest things I have had to deal with as a newbie author is the waiting. I write a book and I send it off to beta readers. I sit back and wait. Do they like it? Do they hate it? OMG what is taking them so long to get back to me??? I get it back and I love hearing the good thing that they love and yes the things they have a problem with. These issues help me to develop a better story. All around its a good deal for me. The waiting kills me though.

So then I polish it up and bite the bullet so to speak. I write a synopsis (kill me now haha) draft my query letter and prepare to submit it to a publisher. With A Flawed Jewel I pretty much had my hand held through the whole process. Thank GOD because I was terrified the entire time. Who isn’t when they do something for the first time? Once its sent I again have to sit back and wait. So far I have sat waiting through three beta readers and now my potential editor… You see where this is going?

I get an acceptance letter. Then I have to sit and wait for the contract. I read contract sign and send back…only to wait for my editor to tell me what the next step is. Keep in mind this is ALL new to me. I don’t know exactly what to expect or what the process is until I finally get another email with a preedit checklist. What’s that shizzle? Oh its all the formatting little idiosyncrasies that they want me to fix in the manuscript before it even goes to first round of edits. Let’s just say it isn’t “fun”.  I start preedits. I send them back to my editor…I wait for first round edits. I get those back and wait for second round. Wash and repeat. This is a never ending cycles.

Where am I at in this process. I am sitting here in my kitchen writing a blog and waiting…yes again. This time for the line editor to get A Flawed Jewel back to me. I sent it back to my editor on New Years Eve. Whats that you say? It is January 14 its been two weeks… Well these things take time. Its nothing but a waiting game. You hurry up to wait again. The line edits are more intensive and detailed. We want the book to be as good as we can make it right? Well that’s what I keep telling myself :).

So right now my projected release date is February 21. That is subject to change depending on how these line edits go. Cross your fingers I don’t bleed to much when I finally receive them. In the meantime you all can sit back and wait…right along side of me to get your first taste of A Flawed Jewel. Hopefully I can share an excerpt with you all soon.

 

wait

 

Leave a Reply

