What Do Authors do?

 

When Hailey Edwards asked if I wanted to participate in a blog hop of sorts I said sure why not. I mean I have nothing better to do right? It is spring break in my household…which means I don’t have to work the day job. I had plans to write this week…but..um…it’s not going quite as planned. So where was I? Oh yeah answering questions. Let’s look at these and see if I can assemble some kind of answer that makes sense. After you finish reading my blog hop on over to Hailey’s blog and read about how this all works for her. Click here to learn more about her work and how she creates such wonderful stories.

Image

1. What are you working on?

I am working on several projects all at once. My mind wanders and oh look a pretty butterfly. Yes, I need constant stimulation to keep me on track. Currently I have a piece of work off at betas with a working title of A Treasured Lily. It is the second book in the world of my book A Flawed Jewel, which became available for purchase on April 4. A Flawed Jewel is the first book I published and wrote. I decided to continue on in that world and A Treasured Lily became a reality towards the end of March. Because I can’t sit still and wait I started a third novella in that world (also the final book I plan on writing in that set) called A Sanguine Gem. They should all tie together nicely.

I also have a book that borders on young adult that is maybe a third written. I put it on the back burner for a spell while I hash out these books. It will be finished…eventually. Cowgirl Fever will get published as soon as I decide who I want to sign a contract with.

2. How does your work differ from others in the genre?

Because it is mine. What that isn’t a good enough answer? Fine I will try to tell you why mine is different. There are always certain elements that carry over in a genre. A Flawed Jewel is a historical. When I wrote it I didn’t think I’d ever walk into that realm again. Then I got a crazy dream and decided to write two more historical books. There are pirates and I like to believe my first one is especially yummy. I hope they come off as unique because that is what I aim to achieve. Memorable characters that the readers will love as much as I do.

3. Why do you write what you write?

Um, because the voices in my head tell me to. That is the short answer. I wake up from crazy dreams with bizarre ideas that I just have to write. There is no rhyme or reason to it. It just is what it is. I don’t plot or plan…mostly anyway. I have a basic idea of what will happen, but ultimately the characters run the show.

4. How does your writing process work

I should have a process? Wait, why didn’t someone tell me this? I feel cheated. Seriously, though I get an idea in my head and I write like a mad woman for days. I eat, sleep, and breathe the story until it has filled the pages. Insane absolutely. Paradox Origin is the only one I didn’t finish this way. It is the slowest book I’ve got going right now. A Flawed jewel and A Treasured Lily had rough drafts written in less than a week. They ARE novellas though so that is excusable. Cowgirl Fever took me about a month. I took breaks and tried to remember the world kept turning around me during that one. I like to write then reread it the next day with fresh eyes. Afterwards I write some more until I get everything out of me for that day. I don’t always write every day. My schedule doesn’t always allow for it. Sometimes it sucks to have a day job that interferes with writing, but it also pays the bills. Damn those necessities. Ideas can strike at the worst possible times too. In the middle of the night I have pulled out my phone and taken notes. A couple of weeks ago I hand wrote notes and some quick dialogue…oh the horror. How did they manage to do that in the past. It. Is. So. Slow.

Any way I hope you learned something…or at the very least got some entertainment from all of this. Come again soon, ya’ll.

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

