Taking Pleasure Where You Can-Guest Post

Image

 

Today I have a guest on my blog. Kelly Ryan has a flirt, Taking Pleasure Where You Can coming out on June 27. 

 

A huge thank you to Dawn for letting me stop by and talk a little about writing and give a sneak peak of my new release, Taking Pleasure Where You Can. So excited to stop by and gab a little! So thanks again Dawn for being such an awesome lady!
Today I thought I would talk a little about the need to practice the craft of writing. I recently read an article (one that I of course cannot find when I want to quote it) that talked about how talent is not so much innate ability, but more diligence and practice. I remember it stating something like it takes 10,000 hours of practice to master a skill. Think about that 10,000 hours. Thank applies to creative writing as well. Sure, some people seem to be born writers, but they are also very dedicated to their craft and put the hours in.
To me I found this article to be hopeful. I am a published author, with the release of Taking Pleasure Where You Can I now have 8 stories/books in some way shape or form under my belt, but I still feel like I am a novice amongst the masters. I am learning and growing with each book, but I still have a long way to go. I never want to stop learning and growing either. I want to keep “practicing” and getting better at my craft. Sure, I have spent my 10,000 hours writing already (I am pretty sure I have done so much more) and I will be the first to admit that I am not a master writer yet, but I am so much better than when I began. And I am a published author now too. That is huge! So pardoned me while I go back to some practice so that tomorrow I can be a little better than today!

And now for a sneak peak of Taking Pleasure Where You Can:

Image

Blurbs from Taking Pleasure Where You Can:

John never thought that he would be the same after Pearl Harbor, then he set eyes on Imee and everything changed.
Ever since Pearl Harbor John had become a shell of a man, not able to move on from the trauma. One night out with the guys and one woman were about to change everything.

Excerpt:

Joe seemed to know everyone, and everyone seemed keen to be near him. It made it much easier for the quiet by nature and still healing John to slowly make some friends. Once the drinks started flowing, he even began to loosen up a bit. He missed hanging out with guys, telling stories, joking around, and laughing. His Captain had been right; this was what he needed and what his friends who had passed on would want. He was beginning to feel alive again, and it felt good. Then he caught sight of her.

Author Bio:

Kelly Ryan, aka Sheri Velarde, lives in New Mexico with her fiancé and two dogs, and grew up with a fascination for all things that “go bump in the night”, so it is no wonder that she turned to writing paranormal romance among other genres of romance. She is an avid exerciser and gets some of her best ideas while on runs. She also has a bit of a wild side, which only leads to inspiration for her writing.

Being an avid reader since an early age, she has wanted to be a writer for as long as she can remember. She has been writing all her life, but only recently started to actually try to pursue her dream of writing for a living.
She is constantly putting out new material, so it is best to keep up with her on her website.

 

Kelly/Sheri is a multi-published author; you can keep up to date with all things Kelly Ryan/Sheri Velarde at: www.sherivelarde.weebly.com.

 

Buy her book here

One comment

Leave a Reply

