Cover Reveal: Scandalous Endeavors by Amanda Marie

I have the pleasure of helping Amanda Marie reveal her cover for Scandalous Endeavors.

First here is a little bit about the book:

Short blurb:
Lady Amelia’s willing to create a scandal to stay in her beloved England. A Scottish Duke ignites her passion, but will she abandon her endeavor for love?

Long blurb:
Amelia is devastated after her father’s death. England holds a special place in her heart. Her new guardian, an American uncle, has ordered her to pack. Her uncle agrees to give her four weeks to settle her affairs, and then she must board a ship bound for America.
Not willing to give up on a life in England, the only home she has ever known, Amelia decides marrying an English peer is her only option. Despite her mourning period she endeavors to trap one of London’s eligible bachelors in matrimony.
Lord Goldstone, a Scottish Duke, thwarts her carefully laid plans at every attempt. Sparks fly as the pair find themselves at odds with each other. Can they find a way to stop arguing long enough to explore their growing passion? Is it strong enough to make Amelia give up her English home after all?

Doesn’t it sound amazing? Are  you all ready to get a look at her cover? Okay you twisted my arm here it is:

AM_ScandalousEndeavors_600x900_HiRes

Now to learn a little bit about Amanda Marie:

1. Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
I live in Michigan’s thumb near the Lake Huron shore line with my two kids and husband. We also have two Maincoon cats. They are like having two more children, only furry ones. I work as a substitute teacher and as a content and acquisitions editor. My favorite book and movie is Gone With The Wind. I could live on Italian food, but get sick if I eat breakfast. The last book I read for fun was Stormy Persuasion by Johanna Lindsey. It is a great read!
2. What do you do when you are not writing?
When I am not writing, I can normally be found playing Candy Crush, reading, working, or doing stuff with my family. My daughter is very active in dance and pageantry so we are often at a class or competition. Both of my kids play basketball as well. I like to crochet and dabble in photography.
3. If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?
Yes! Everything is just perfect now, but it was a bumpy road getting it that way. If I could start over I would have written Scandalous Endeavors in third person from the start. Instead I wrote it in first person then decided to switch the entire manuscript to third person. It was not hard to do but was time consuming. I would also have been more clear with my cover art directions/wishes. My first cover was not at all what I imagined it would be. My cover artist and publishing house were awesome and I got a new cover which was basically what I thought I wanted. It turned out I disliked it more than I thought I disliked the first cover. Ultimately I decided I liked the first cover but wanted a different font and a pop of color. Again, the artist and publishing house revised my cover. The artist also took the time to discuss the cover with me as well as trends in cover art, what works and what does not. In the end trusting her knowledge and only asking for the thing that bothered me most resulted in a fantastic cover that I am so happy to share! Moral of the story-trust the professionals and don’t pick at every detail.
4. Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
Some of the heroine’s behaviors were based off of a real person I know. All of the events that took place were truly imagination.
5. What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?
This is hard! I enjoyed writing almost every chapter and scene in the book. If I have to choose one it would maybe probably be chapter seven. In that chapter Amelia is working her plan for entrapping a husband. Her antics were a lot of fun to write and I channeled a great deal of that above real life person into the scene. I also had a great deal of fun writing the end bits when Lord Goldstone enters the scene ruining Amelia’s hard work.
6. How did you come up with the title?
That was not so easy. I had a working title and was determined to keep it until I did a search and saw that many other books had the same name. I did not want to use something that others already had. I wound up on the phone with my sister for hours as we played with words and pitched ideas. Ultimately we came up with a list of four possible titles. I then put those on my blog and asked people to vote on their favorite one. Scandalous Endeavors tied with Scandalous Desires and Misguided Destiny! However Scandalous Endeavors fit the story best so I choose to go with it.
7. Have you ever gone out in public with your shirt on backwards, or your slippers on, and when realizing it, just said screw it?
Yep! I even do it on purpose sometimes. I almost always wear my pajama pants when I drive my munchkins to school in the am. That said I have on a few occasions accidentally went to the post office to get the mail in them too.
8. Are you a person who makes their bed in the morning, or do you not see much point?
Depends. I do like climbing into a neat bed at night but do not always make the bed in the morning either. It is more often the case that I just quickly spread the blanket back out.
9. If your book were made into a movie, who do you picture playing each characters part?
I have no idea, honest I don’t know.
10. Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?
Thank you from the bottom of my heart! I hope that each and every one of you decides to read my book and I hope that you love it as much as I do. But even if you don’t just the fact that you took the time to read my interview warms my heart.

me 033 A

Amanda Marie dreams of days gone by when life moved at a slower pace. She enjoys taking pen to paper and exploring historical time periods through her imagination and the written word. Her hobbies include reading, writing, crocheting, traveling, photography, and spending time with her family. Some of Amanda Marie’s favorite places in the continental U.S. are Harper’s Ferry West Virginia and Sea Brook New Hampshire. She loves the history that surrounds them and visits them every chance she gets.

Amanda Marie lives along the Lake Huron shore line in northern Michigan with her husband and two kids. She holds a Master of Liberal Arts Degree with a concentration in literature and has a long standing love affair with sugary junk food.

Join Amanda Marie on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/AuthorAmandaMarie1
Visit her blog at http://musingsbymandy.wordpress.com/
Write to Amanda Marie at amandamarieauthor@gmail.com
Follow her on Twitter @AmandaMarieAuth

Leave a Reply

